Horror

Horror fiction is fiction in any medium intended to scare, unsettle, or horrify the audience. Historically, the cause of the "horror" experience has often been the intrusion of a supernatural element into everyday human experience. Since the 1960s, any work of fiction with a morbid, gruesome, surreal, or exceptionally suspenseful or frightening theme has come to be called "horror". Horror fiction often overlaps science fiction or fantasy, all three of which categories are sometimes placed under the umbrella classification speculative fiction.

You Know You Want This
The Cold Is in Her Bones
A Cathedral of Myth and Bone
Vultures (Miriam Black, #6)
Doctor Who: Scratchman
Lipstick Voodoo (Kincaid Strange, #2)
Fire Devil (Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper #11)
約束のネバーランド 12 [Yakusoku no Neverland 12] (The Promised Neverland, #12)
Farmhand, Vol. 1
Fireside Chat with a Grammar Nazi Serial Killer
The Haunting of Henderson Close
Die #2
Monstress #19
Blossoms: 666 #1
কথুলহু
  • Within the Darkness (Wisteria Book 2) by Shelby Lamb
    Within the Darkness (Wisteria Book 2): A Dark Fantasy Dystopian With Demons and Monsters - Mature Content
    by
    Release date: Jan 04, 2019
    "You shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you mad."

    -- Aldous Huxley


    Aubrey has done it. She has teleported herself to "the hidden domain" a
    ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Kindle book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 100 copies available, 339 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Feb 03 - Feb 20, 2019

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Something by Shelby Lamb
    Something (Wisteria #1)
    by
    Release date: Aug 24, 2018
    Backstory:

    Some might think Aubrey Golding's character is too whiney and immature and that this book is too mature for coming of age. But I got to stay
    ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Kindle book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 100 copies available, 510 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Feb 03 - Feb 20, 2019

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Little Darlings by Melanie Golding
    Little Darlings
    by
    Release date: Apr 30, 2019
    “Mother knows best” takes on a sinister new meaning in this unsettling thriller perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Grimms’ Fairy Tales.

    Everyone says
    ...more
    View Details »

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 25 copies available, 3661 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Feb 10 - Feb 24, 2019

    Countries available: U.S.

  • My Sister, the Serial Killer
    Stillhouse Lake (Stillhouse Lake, #1)
    You
    No Exit
    The Outsider
    Daughters of the Lake
    Last Woman
    Killman Creek (Stillhouse Lake, #2)
    The Grownup
    In a Dark, Dark Wood
    Craven Manor
    Hunted
    Every Heart a Doorway (Wayward Children, #1)
    Hidden Bodies (You, #2)
    The Last Time I Lied
    1984 by George OrwellThe Road by Cormac McCarthyLord of the Flies by William GoldingAmerican Psycho by Bret Easton EllisA Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
    Darkest Books Of All Time
    1,084 books — 1,347 voters
    A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. MaasMermen by Mimi Jean PamfiloffRed Queen by Victoria AveyardAn Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa TahirSix of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
    New Series (2015)
    435 books — 1,309 voters

    American Psycho by Bret Easton EllisLord of the Flies by William Golding1984 by George OrwellA Child Called "It" by Dave PelzerA Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
    The Most Disturbing Book Ever Written
    2,274 books — 7,895 voters
    The Name of the Wind by Patrick RothfussThe Wise Man's Fear by Patrick RothfussThe Final Empire by Brandon SandersonThe Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott LynchThe Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson
    New Speculative Fiction Stars
    1,043 books — 2,637 voters

    1984 by George OrwellDracula by Bram StokerAmerican Gods by Neil GaimanFrankenstein by Mary Wollstonecraft ShelleyThe Complete Stories and Poems by Edgar Allan Poe
    Quality Dark Fiction
    2,005 books — 2,266 voters
    World War Z by Max BrooksZombie Fallout by Mark TufoA Plague Upon Your Family by Mark TufoThe End by Mark TufoFeed by Mira Grant
    Best Zombie Books
    1,231 books — 2,858 voters

    The Shining (The Shining, #1)
    It
    Dracula
    Carrie
    Frankenstein
    'Salem's Lot
    Pet Sematary
    The Stand
    Misery
    The Haunting of Hill House
    World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War
    Interview with the Vampire (The Vampire Chronicles, #1)
    Cujo
    Doctor Sleep (The Shining, #2)
    Heart-Shaped Box

    Dean Koontz
    Dean Koontz What the Night Knows (What the Night Knows, #1)
    His Favorite Ghost Stories: The craftsman of creepy shares his favorite ghost stories in honor of his new thriller, What the Night Knows, about a rampaging killer who reawakens from the dead.
    More Good Minds Suggest…
    Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley
    There is something at work in my soul, which I do not understand.
    Mary Shelley, Frankenstein

    Bram Stoker
    Even if she be not harmed, her heart may fail her in so much and so many horrors; and hereafter she may suffer--both in waking, from her nerves, and in sleep, from her dreams.
    Bram Stoker, Dracula

    More quotes...
    Horror Aficionados If you love horror literature, movies, and culture, you're in the right place. Whether it's vamp…more

    14,921 members, last active 3 minutes ago

    Challenge Corner There is at least one reading challenge within the group per month as well as quarterly reading…more

    1,264 members, last active a minute ago

    A place for writers and readers to come together to connect. Writers can share their work and as…more

    1 member, last active 8 days ago

    Monsters, Murderers and Maniacs For people with a common interest in horror, mystery, thriller, crime and abnormal behavior. PLE…more

    1,090 members, last active 11 hours ago

    Thirst
    1 chapters — updated Mar 03, 2011 11:47PM — 11 people liked it
    The Way to the End
    6 chapters — updated Jun 20, 2016 12:36AM — 0 people liked it

    Tags

    Tags contributing to this page include: horror, classic-horror, fiction_speculative_horror, horror-classics, horror-fiction, and horror-literature
    Великолепный век / Muhtesem Yüzyil | Kryminał / Triller / Akcja | Hart of Dixie